A roll of T-max 400 from shooting to sharing

In novembre last year I had the chance with the local photo club to shoot a roll of t-max 400 during a film « Grenowalk » (a shooting walk once a month, each time a different theme ; and the club is from Grenoble, France).
I restored the Yashica FR I 35mm reflex camera lent by my step parents, throw a roll of t-max 400 (36 views), and here we go.

Shooting was very enjoyable ; the viewfinder is very big and bright (paired with a 50mm f/1.7), composing and focus are easy, metering very good (confirmed by the images later).

Once shot, the film was developed by myself in an associative lab, La Bifurk, where I was taught how to develop and enlarge a 35mm film.

Scan was done with a DIY box, where the film is back illuminated with my smartphone and scanned with an Olympus E-P5, the same 50mm f/1.7 used one the Yashika, and a couple of close-up filters, and post processed with Lightroom (curve inverting, contrast, local dodge/burn, spot removal). The t-max is a low grain film, and with pleinty of informations in hightlight and shadow to recover ; PP was easier than I tought.

I am quite happy with the result, I think some images are worth showing, I hope you will enjoy some of them.

 

Leave a Reply

